The Wilder, the Better!

When I was a child, we were about a forty-minute drive away from the Kruger National Park; one of Africa’s most majestic wildlife parks. We often made a spur of the moment decision the night before, to go to the park the next morning.

I will never forget the excitement of knowing that we would be waking up long before the sun will rise the next morning.

I don’t stay close to the Kruger Park anymore, but I still get withdrawal symptoms if I haven’t been able to retreat to the bushveld for a while.

Why do we get so drawn to a specific piece of creation? Some people have a special connection with the sea, others enjoy hiking in the mountains.

Apart from the fact that we experience a sense of adventure when we get in touch with nature, I can only conclude that we experience the Creator in a very special way.

The Bible is filled with beautiful references to the magnitude of the Creator when we look around us, and see the beauty of what He has created.

Like Ecclesiates 7:13 (Message): ‘Take a good look at God’s work. Who could simplify and reduce Creations curves and angles to a plain straight line?’

 

Image

I took this photo of a Leopard cub in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.

During the times that I have to reside in the concrete jungle, I have a few sources that helps to keep my withdrawal symptoms in check:

Africam has a few webcams situated in wildlife parks across South Africa. I have seen some pretty amazing wildlife while taking a coffee break. Check it out!

Hugo Breed Wildtography is a page that you can follow on Facebook. We stayed in the same residence at the University of Pretoria. Some of the shots that he manages to capture, is really breathtaking.

Image

One of Hugo’s snaps.

If you feel overworked, allow yourself to spend some time in the beauty that is nature. If you feel a deep yearning to be with God, spend time in Creation. He isn’t called the Creator for nothing!  

One thought on “The Wilder, the Better!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Discover more from Anru Liebenberg

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading