Updated site! (And one word for 2024)

I have been blogging (on and off) for about 15 years! It’s been a fascinating journey and one that I am very grateful for starting all those years ago. Have you ever come across an old social media or blog post and thought: “Why on earth would I have posted that?!” Well, those cringe-worthy posts ultimately help us to find our voice, and on a personal level, I can only hope that my voice (through writing) gives hope and inspiration to some.

I am proud of the new changes to my website and the new domain (anruliebenberg.com). On the website, you will find new pages on the menu bar to follow some other things I am busy with. I would appreciate your feedback!

Time for the one word!

Margaret Feinberg wrote a few weeks ago about choosing only one word to go into the new year with, as an anchor to ground us or a compass to guide us.

What would your word be? (Choosing only one word is tough, right?)

My word is: (drum roll…) attention.

I would like to pay attention:

  • When I am in contact with someone. Have you also experienced that, after a brief encounter with someone, you realize you can’t really remember looking that person in the eyes? I would like to change that this year.
  • When I work. Less distraction, more focus. I often find myself answering a message, listening to a podcast or watching a YouTube video, and reading or writing something. The end result: none of what I am busy with, gets done with attention.
  • In my journey with God and when I spend time in His word. If there is one place where attention is critical, it’s when we commune with God. Just like my wish to look people in the eye more, I want to do the same with God.
  • When I spend time with my wife and children. What do we want to be remembered for by our family? That we tolerated them when we were busy with other work-related things? That we were always checking our phones while all they really wanted was to connect with us? Our families need our attention, they need to know they are seen and valued.  

What’s your word for this coming year? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Grace and peace,

Anru

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Discover more from Anru Liebenberg

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading